## Minutes Norman County EDA April 18, 2018

The Norman County EDA members met April 17 in Ada City Hall. Officers were elected; chair, Karie Kirschbaum; vice-chair, Jessica Spaeth; secretary, Curt Johannsen; treasurer, Leann Hall; vice-treasurer, Mark Askelson. Others present were board members, John Hintz and James Leiman. Also, in attendance was county attorney James Brue.

Brue opened the meeting at 5:20 p.m.

Officers were elected

Kirschbaum took over the meeting as the new chair.

Initial terms were determined: (1) one-year, James Leiman; (1) two-year, Karie Kirschbaum; (1) three-year Leann Hall; (1) four-year Jessica Spaeth; (1) five-year Mark Askelson; (2) six-year, John Hintz and Curt Johannsen. After the first cycle of terms, according to statute, all terms are for six years.

## **By-laws**

By-laws nuances were discussed, and sample of Ada EDA was available as well as samples from the League of Minnesota Cities. Brue and Leiman agreed to edit the by-laws to reflect points and clarifications agreed upon at the meeting by the members. By-laws will be presented at the next meeting, scheduled for May 3 at the new Ada Area Center at 5:15 p.m.

Brue will check to be sure the new NCEDA is listed under the Directors and Officers insurance policy.

NCEDA by-laws will be presented to the Norman County Commissioners at the meeting May 8 in the Norman County Courthouse for approval. The amount of \$15,000 will be requested from the commissioners for NCEDA start-up funding.

## Future guests

Rani Bhattacharyya from the U of M Crookston Extension will be invited to attend the next meeting. Karie Kirschbaum will contact her to ask her to present options from the U of M to develop the NCEDA.

The meeting adjourned at 6 p.m.